ActivePaper Archive Education hall of fame set to induct 10 - Oklahoman, 8/12/2007

Education hall of fame set to induct 10


Gary Smith

Retired executive vice chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.


Jeanine Rhea

Professor of business, OSU.


Alvin Alcorn

Former vice president of finance for the University of Central Oklahoma and Rose State College Regent.


James Brill

Professor emeritus of petroleum engineering at the University of Tulsa.


Billy Crynes

Dean and professor emeritus of engineering at the University of Oklahoma after service at Oklahoma State


B. Curtis Hamm

Professor emeritus of business, OSU.


Jacob Larson

Professor emeritus of music, OU.


Charles J. Mankin

Director, Oklahoma Geological Survey and professor at OU.


Jean Bell Manning

Vice president emeritus, Langston University


Lloyd Musselman

Professor of history, Oklahoma City University

Ten people will be inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame on Oct. 2 at the Oklahoma History Center. “This year’s class enhances the roster of those who have made significant contributions over a long period of time to higher education and the state,” Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society President John Parrish said. This year’s honorees are: For information on attending the banquet, call 522-0779.

Other honor

Also, special recognition induction will be given to Jesse Thatcher Bost, the first female graduate of Oklahoma higher education, and Alice Mary Robertson, the head of a Presbyterian boarding school for girls in Muskogee that became Henry Kendall College in 1894 and relocated and became the University of Tulsa in 1920.